Amherst, Nova Scotia
VE1WRC 147.285
 VE1AMH 145.190

WestCumb  Amateur  Radio Club  VE1WRC

  Serving Westmorland County New Brunswick & Cumberland County Nova Scotia since 1980

The WestCumb ARC is pleased to host the 6th annual
Symposium for Maritime

Amateur Radio Technology
“To provide insight into the technical and procedural aspects of amateur radio operation.”
The sixth annual Symposium for Maritime Amateur Radio Technology is scheduled for May 6th, 2023 at the Dr. Carson & Marion Murray Community Center, 6 Main St. Springhill NS.
Entrance fee will remain at $10 dollars. There will be 10 one hour classes throughout the day.
Below is the registration form to fill out and answer a few questions. Make sure to click on Send Form after filling out the form. 
A reminder only registered amateurs will have a chance to win the door prizes.


Registration Form

Thank you for contacting us. You are now registered for SMART23.
Oops. An error occurred.
Click here to try again.


  • Entrance Fee - $10.00
  • 10 classes
  • Door prizes for registered amateurs
  • 50/50
  • Grand Prizes (3) radios
  • NEW Friday night Meet & Greet (7-9 pm)  - Amherst Railway Station, 27 Station St. Amherst NS.
  • Maritime Lady amateurs
  • Old Timers Club
  • ARRL Award Checking (DXCC, VUCC, WAS)
  • Maritime Contest Club
  • Flea Market
  • More to come

Class Schedule & Times

*Classes subject to change
  7:00am - Organizers, Volunteers & Flea Market Tables
  8:00am - Doors Open
  8:45am - Opening Remarks 
  9:00am - Classroom 1 / Amateur radio satellite set-up & operations
Classroom 2 /  Basic MAVCOM Linking
10:15am - Classroom 1 / Portable Ops "Parks on the Air & Lighthouses"
Classroom 2 /  Remote Station Operation
11:30am - Classroom 1 /  "FT8" Introduction & more
Classroom 2 /  WSPR
12:30pm-2pm /             Lunch + Flea Market
2:00pm - Classroom 1 /  WINLINK  Introduction & Orientation
Classroom 2 /  Try the 630m Band
3:15pm - Classroom 1 /  WINLINK  Gateway & Architecture
Classroom 2 /  Magnetic Loop Antenna
4:30pm - Closing Remarks + Door & Grand Prizes
Click to edit text


* Subject to change
John Langille VE1CWJ
Set up and contacting amateurs via satellites
  Chris Pye VA1PYE
 WSPR / Weak Signal Propagation Reporter
  Fred Archibald VE1FA
 Restoring Classic Radios
  Alphonse Penny VO1NO
  Radio Amateurs of Canada
  Gordon Cotton VE9GC
  Remote station operations
  Walter Rawle AC1AE/VE1AWS
Magnetic Loop Antenna
  Brent Taylor VY2HF, William McMaster VY2WM
  WINLINK: intro - orientation / Gateway - Architecture
  Robert Schoefield VE1RSM
The very popular FT8
  Craig Seaboyer VE1DSS
Newbie Class: Basic MAVCOM repeater linking
  Len Morgan VE9MY
Portable/mobile operation - Parks & Lighthouses
 Bill Karle VE1YY, Glenn Taylor VE9GJ,
Jason Ingraham VE1PYE
  "Now That You Can, Try the 630m Band"

 Door Prizes*

*Must be registered and in attendance for door prizes.
Bridge Pass PEI  (PEI amateur draw only)
  WestCumb ARC
 $25.00 Gas Card
 $25.00 gas Card
 Moncton & Area ARC
 $25.00 gas Card
 Moncton & Area ARC
 $25.00 gas Card
 Moncton & Area ARC


$2 dollars each, 3 for $5, 10 for $10

 Grand Prizes

Tickets available at event.  ($5 dollars each / 3 for $10 dollars)

Yaesu FT-70DR   Dual Band 5W Handheld Transceiver C4FM
  WestCumb ARC
Yaesu FT5DR    Full-Featured C4FM Handheld Transceiver
  WestCumb ARC
Yaesu FTM-200DR  VHF/ UHF Compact FM /C4FM Mobile Transceiver
  WestCumb ARC

Registered members for SMART 23 (130)

AC1AE    Walter    Corinna ME
VA1ALO    Mia    Greenwood NS
VA1BIL    Bill    Wilmot NS
VA1CBC    Borden    Northport NS
VA1CS    Chad    Oxford NS
VA1HAS    Helen    Brookdale NS
VA1PYE    Chris    Lunenburg NS
VA1WTF    Scot    Centreville NS
VA1YZX    Jim    Forest Glade NS
VE1AFH    Jim    Brookdale NS
VE1AHF    Doug    Antigonish NS
VE1AIC    Ron    Cornwall PE
VE1AJF    Gord    Osborne Corner NB
VE1AS    Terry    Pugwash NS
VE1ASE    Mike    Quispamsis NB
VE1BIC    Ron    Amherst NS
VE1BXK    Lorne    Parrsboro NS
VE1BZZ    Brian    Nictaux NS
VE1CEO    Colleen    Warren NS
VE1CHL    Scott    Bible Hill NS
VE1CM    John    Summerside PE
VE1CNS    Bryne    Lake Echo NS
VE1CWJ    John    Folly Lake NS
VE1CYP    Al     Bridgewater NS
VE1DF    Darroch    Halifax NS
VE1DIY    Darrell    Middleton NS
VE1DN    Darren    Lower East Pubnico NS
VE1DSS    Craig    Antigonish NS
VE1FA    Fred    Port Willians NS
VE1FSM    Frank    Amherst NS
VE1GRE    Greg    Chester Grant NS
VE1GVY    Gord    Fall River NS
VE1HUL    Dave    Truro NS
VE1II    Bruce    Salmon River NS
VE1IQ    Brian    Greenwood NS
VE1JBL    Jim    Tidnish Bridge NS
VE1JCS    James    Antigonish NS
VE1JEF    Jeffrey    Centreville NS
VE1JMB    John    Hubley NS
VE1JS    John    Sandy Cove NS
VE1JSG    Jon    Amherst NS
VE1JSO    Jerry    Plympton NS
VE1KEV    Kevin    Amherst NS
VE1KW    Jerry    Sackville NB
VE1LG    Doug    Kingston NS
VE1LRL    Larry    Halifax NS
VE1LV    Hal    Valley NS
VE1MAG    Michael    Dartmouth NS
VE1MBH    Michael    Salmon River NS
VE1MWJ    Mike    Amherst Head NS
VE1MY    Mike    Amherst Point NS
VE1NAT    Nathalie    Edmundston NB
VE1NEI    Duncan    Dartmouth NS
VE1NEL    Brett    Truro NS
VE1NR    Wayne    Fletchers Lake NS
VE1OR    Steve    Warren NS
VE1PDL    Ken    Dartmouth NS
VE1PHL    Phil    Wilmot NS
VE1PIN    Bert    Edmundston NB
VE1PS    Peter    Beechville NS
VE1PYE    Jason    Fall River NS
VE1QET    Quentin    Dartmouth NS
VE1RL    Ritchie    Halifax NS
VE1RMJ    Robert    Oxford NS
VE1RSM    Bob    Hantsport NS

VE1TH    Sharon    Timberlea NS
VE1TRI    Barry    Grand Lake NS
VE1TWH    Tom    Bedford NS
VE1UF    Ken    Bible Hill NS
VE1VEC    Paul    Antigonish NS
VE1VH    Bruce    Amherst NS
VE1VOX    Dana    Truro Heights NS
VE1WIN    Peter    Halifax NS
VE1WPH    Wayne    Halifax NS
VE1WTZ    Peter    Meadowvale NS
VE1XTC    Jeff    Victoria Vale NS
VE1YY    Bill    Lantz NS
VE1ZB    Mike    Oxford NS
VE1ZG    Doug    Timberlea NS
VE1ZS    Al     Amherst NS
VE1ZX    Brad    Two Islands NS
VE3KXX    Jason    Ottawa ON
VE9ADV    Jean-Pierre    Dieppe NB
VE9AI    Gary    Fredericton NB
VE9BK    Jean-Paul    Lutes Mountain NB
VE9CAM    Cam    Moncton NB
VE9CDN    Robert    Fredericton NB
VE9CJB    Curtis    Saint John NB
VE9CU    David    Riverview NB
VE9CUB    Don    Moncton NB
VE9DSO    Doug    Quispamsis NB
VE9EMS    Denis     St. Martin's NB
VE9FI    Russ    Hampton NB
VE9FLM    Jeff    Lower Kingsclear NB
VE9GC    Gordon    Irishtown NB
VE9GIS    Misha    Moncton NB
VE9HV    Rodrick    Moncton NB
VE9IM    Ian    Quispamsis NB
VE9JFL    Michel    Dieppe NB
VE9KM    Robert    Sackville NB
VE9ML    Marcel    Moncton NB
VE9MTV    Mike    Irishtown NB
VE9MY    Len    Baxter's Corner NB
VE9NW    Gilles    Memramcook NB
VE9OSK    Oscar    Dieppe NB
VE9PKV    Pravin    Sackville NB
VE9QLE    Steven    Fredericton NB
VE9RA    Raymond    Memrancook NB
VE9SC    Steven    Moncton NB
VE9SDH    Scott    Sussex NB
VE9SF    Steve    St. Phillippe NB
VE9SMA    Stephen    St, Phillippe NB
VE9SRH    Sharla     Wilmot NS
VE9XX    Don    Dunlop NB
VO1BQ    Joe    St. John's NF
VO1NO    Al     Aylesford NS
VY2BB    Beverly    Montague PE
VY2CAW    William    Charlottetown PE
VY2DS    Doug    Summerside PE
VY2GF    George    New Perth PE
VY2GM    George    Charlottetown PE
VY2HF    Brent    Stratford PE
VY2JC    Joe    Burton PE
VY2OL    Selina    Morell PE
VY2RU    Ken    Clinton PE
VY2TAM    Therese    Georgetown PE
VY2TAZ    Tracey    Covehead PE
VY2WM    Bill    Charlottetown PE
VY2WT    Graeme    Glenfinnan PE
VY2XU    Alan    Montague PE


Super 8
 40 Lord Amherst Drive, Amherst NS
Comfort Inn
 143 South Albion Street, Amherst NS
Parkview Inn
 4670 Main Street, Oxford NS
Sukkar Motel
 19038 Highway 2, Nappan NS
Tantramar Motel
 4 Robson Ave, Sackville NB
 Coastal Inn
 15 Wright Street, Sackville NB
 Wandlyn Inn
 1539 Southampton Road, Amherst, NS